Reflection

For that past few weeks, in Mrs. Taynton’s language arts class, we have been learning about culture and working on a book report project. I chose the book “To Kill A Mockingbird” by Harper Lee for my project.

I chose to do a compare and contrast paper for my project. The topic I picked was “Law in the 1950s vs Law Now” and I wrote about how the law has changed since the 50s. Since the book is about racism in a court, I wrote about how now racism is unacceptable in court, but still exists in some ways. For example, some cases claim to have nothing to do with racism but actually they are a little bit racist. There are many cases in which a white officer arrested or somehow harmed a black man and were overly violent for no reason and these cases were found to be because of racism.

I also explained what the book is about and what it has to do with racism. I said how Atticus is still defending Tom Robinson even though he is black and everyone on the town thinks it is a bad idea to be his attorney.

I think I did rather well in my project but there are certain ways I could have improved. I put a lot of thought and did a lot of research on my topic and it made me see that although our society has changed greatly, it is still similar to how it was all those years ago when the United States was so racist. I could have improved by writing more and adding more details to the topic. I also probably could have worded many things much better so I need to work on that. Overall, I am pleased with my work and progress with this project.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *