Human Rights Project Reflection

During this unit we used the website Wikispaces to create a research project about human rights. Each person in the class picked one of the 30 human rights, and I picked right number 30: No one can take away your human rights. While researching this subject I learned so many new things about people’s rights and people in so many countries whose rights are stolen from them. An example are the citizens of North Korea who have no access to the outside world or women in the Middle East who cannot have an education. People’s rights are most often taken away by their country’s government abusing their power to harm the people’s lives. I also learned more about the rights of prisoners and I used the things I learned to help me make my opinion and state it clearer. Prisoners rights is a difficult subject to touch because they are human and deserve their rights. However, I believe that they have lost their right to having rights when they broke the law because they did not abide by society’s rules. I struggled finding sources to back up my statements though because I was not entirely sure what key words or subjects to search, but it became less of a problem towards the end of the project. My vocabulary was appropriate for the audience and I did well stating my opinion. The pictures on my page made sense with the topic and the format made the page look interesting and colorful.
I think this unit way very useful because it helped us voice our own opinions and we got to practice finding useful sources for research. It’s much different to have to research about and support a personal opinion rather than a certain topic and it is a tricky skill to build up, so this project helped us all a lot. That is a skill we will definitely keep for research in the future. We also learned a lot about our rights as humans and the rights of everyone around us.

 

http://lemanchengdu.wikispaces.com/Ainslee+-+No-one+can+take+away+your+rights

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *